It’s a music typewriter

Saw this on my twitter feed this morning, via @kickassical.

Source

I want to know if it actually works. And who built it. It does look pretty cool… judging from what’s going on the music behind it, I’m guessing it’s more for the novelty than for anyone wanting software that can format their musical composition into some nice format. You can’t bar eighth or sixteenth notes, and I think placement of sharps or flats could get tricky.

Still doesn’t compare to Sibelius. Or Finale.

It’s still kind of cool, though.

In other news, Google’s homepage today is featuring a special playable guitar logo in honor of the 96th birthday of musician Les Paul, someone I’ve personally never heard of but was apparently a prominent guitar builder and musician notable for his use of “overdubbing,” or layering guitar sounds over each other. He earned two Grammys before his death. More information here in PC mag.

The cool thing about this special guitar logo (and I think Google’s engineers have really outdone themselves) is that not only can you play music, but you could also record a little ditty of your own composition and send it to your friends.

It seems as though all the musicians (and even non-musicians) in my facebook newsfeed are enjoying it.

I’m pretty happy about it.

23 thoughts on “It’s a music typewriter

  1. This is one of the coolest ever “Googles” and I was able to intuitively play, record, re-play, and email. How nice that the pre-sets made for a lovely harmony and was almost impossible to sound discordant!

    Bises,
    Genie

  2. Awww, I wanted to play too. I haven’t notice this on Google yesterday.
    Anyway, I would buy a music typewriter, not because I am a talented composer, but because it looks really cool and unique.

  3. The typewriter is pretty cool! Les Paul was hugely influential (more so in collboration with others, notably Django Reinhardt – well worth a listen) and innovative in guitar design, which a guitar-playing friend of mine doesn’t rate all that highly but apparently it has twin humbuckers to create a unique sound. No, I don’t know what twin humbuckers are either!

  4. You’ve never heard of Les Paul? Wow….of course, I grew up with a stepdad who plays (very well, used to perform in bars and clubs, now plays in his church) and LOVES music and guitars by Les Paul. My brothers do as well. I wish I’d seen Google’s thing, but I didn’t. Oh well. I do love Google, though. They are so creative and talented!

  5. Abby, would you believe that it wasn’t until I read your blog post that I actually discovered the logo could do all you said it could? Thank you for that! The musical typewriter looks like something I would love to have in my home. I have a thing for vintage typewriters!

  6. I was really impressed with the Google guitar thing too! I think it’s genius! I hope it stays there for a while! Yeah, red can be tricky on redheads but I think some shades of reds/pinks will look with redheads! Or reds mixed with other colors! πŸ™‚ xoxoxoo

  7. I got so excited when I saw the logo, so much fun! Sadly I was at work and having my poorly constructed guitar strumming blaring out of my office wasn’t making my co-workers happy. Shoot. But this is definitely one of my favourite logo, right up there with the pacman one! xx

  8. Oh my how amazing would that be if it were functional! Music is a wonderful thing and this reminds me of cooking in the kitchen with one of my closest friends while bopping along to music.
    Happy weekend dear!

    xoxo,

    Chic ‘n Cheap Living

  9. Just wanted to tell you how much time I have spent (wasted) playing the Google guitar and emailing my friends… How cool is that! I think that if you saved a “tune” and emailed it to someone you can still get to the guitar…

    I am easily distracted by toys – hah!

    Genie

  10. That musical typewriter looks amazing! I’m also keen to find out if it actually works, and how! But I must say that I think I’d prefer to use Finale; at least you can hear the entire piece played back.

    I remember that Google logo, but I totally didn’t realise that it was an interactive one! If I had known, I’m sure I would’ve recorded something on it.

    I’m probably eventually going to reblog that image of the musical typewriter. When I do, I’ll link back to this blog to give you credit for discovering it before me.

  11. Dude. That’s one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen! I sincerely hope it actually works! If it does, I’d totally want one. I need to get writing more music now… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

