Through the Looking Glass

Part of the reason why I want to study in New York City is because I want to immerse myself in the legendary art museums that are around the city. The Metripolitan, MoMa… I have a friend, a studio art major, who grew up in New York City and assures me that the museums are quite an inspiring experience. In my very tiny home state, there is a distinct lack of art museums. The RISD museum, though it has a decent collection, doesn’t really compare to the Met.

This was why, a few weeks before the end of school, my studio art major friend and I planned a trip to the Boston Museum of Fine Arts during Easter break.

Another reason was to see the highly acclaimed Dale Chihuly blown installation art glass exhibit, fittingly entitled, “Through the Looking Glass.” Dale Chihuly is a glass artist known for his revolutionary designs with blown glass art. His art is not the typical blown glass bottles. Instead, his art is the type that fills a room with a forest of blown glass shapes — truly awe-inspiring.

From the Museum of Fine Arts website:

By 1965, Dale Chihuly was already captivated by the process of glassblowing. Influenced by an environment that fostered the blurring of boundaries separating the various arts, as early as 1967 Chihuly was using neon, argon, and blown glass forms to create room-sized installations of his glass. Although his work ranges from the single vessel to indoor and outdoor site-specific installations, he is best known for his multipart blown compositions. Based in Seattle, Washington, Chihuly works with a team of glassblowers, a process that allows him to work on a grand scale and to explore and experiment with color, design, and assemblage. “Chihuly: Through the Looking Glass” provides an opportunity to see and explore the full range of his artistic achievements by immersing visitors in the beautiful and enchanting environments created through his extraordinary vision.

I had never seen anything like this before. The designs are spiraling, fantastical, and evocative of forests, flowers, and ocean life. My friend and I took plenty of pictures, which do it it little justice. The colors are vibrant, and the displays fittingly used light sources to display the art to their full advantage.

I was a little disappointed that my camera couldn’t fully capture the beauty of these objects. My camera is your typical digital which has trouble adjusting to dark scenes. But here are some of my pictures. The full album on facebook can be found here for anyone interested in seeing more.

For those of you in the Boston area, or anyone planning a trip to Boston this summer, please note that the Chihuly exhibition will be up until August 7.

You won’t be disappointed.

Click photos to enlarge. 

25 thoughts on “Through the Looking Glass

  1. What gorgeous glasswork. Before I even read your words, I saw ocean life in the images. They so look like sea plants and sea life. Do you know if the artist finds his inspiration there, or is it just an artistic parallel that happens naturally?

  2. This is what I call art, making glass looking like that akes some mad skills.
    Your digital camera did a pretty good job actually capturing these pieces of art.
    I should visit a museum too, it’s been a while.

  3. Incredible art work! I like your captures! Being the museum buff that I am, I never pass up an opportunity to visit one. I love to see the talent and the self expression of wonderful artists. It’s so inspring and leaves me feeling like anything is possible! 🙂

  4. Oh yes do get to NYC some day! It’s such a fabulous place. Btw, large companies sometimes give their employees a cultural card perk (free admission to museums plus a few guests). If we’re ever in NYC at the same time, I’ll let you into the Met for free 😉

    Love Dale Chihuly – there was an exhibit of a few his pieces at the Botanical Gardens a few years ago.

    xoxo,
    Chic ‘n Cheap Living

  5. WOW…those are amazing and I agree that you should totally study in NYC:) Hugs and kisses, darling

    P.S: I’m hosting an awesome Organic cosmetics Giveaway today! Perfect for a summer glowy skin:)

Leave a Reply

