strike up the band and make the fireflies dance

I really like this song for some reason.

Oh, kiss me beneath the milky twilight
Lead me out on the moonlit floor
Lift your open hand
Strike up the band and make the fireflies dance
Silver moon’s sparkling
So kiss me

I think I am half hopeless romantic, half pragmatic planner who lays all her options out on the table and thinks them through.

It’s a strange combination.

I’m a risk taker in the sense that I’ll take some really wild risks.

I’m cautious in the sense that I’ll stop to think: “is this reasonable? Is this fair? Is this best?” I do have a tendency to over think. You should see how reasonable I am when it comes to thinking about future options, though I have to remember that everything could change in a heartbeat (and did). You should see me evaluate all my options for graduate school. What career should I choose? Which would be better suited for me? Etc etc etc.

The wild risk is that I’m aiming for Columbia University, in New York City.

But I’ll think nothing of falling in love with someone who probably won’t love me back.

What about you?

All photos are under a CC license and used with permission. Click photos for credits.

7 thoughts on “strike up the band and make the fireflies dance

  1. I really like the lyrics you posted. Overthinking can be good sometimes. At least you can be confident that you have weighed every option. Good luck with your grad school decision!

  2. I’m exactly the same way! I’m a pro at ‘paralysis by analysis,’ but rarely so when it comes to romance. I wonder why that is? Never really realized it before.

  3. Dear Abby,
    It is great to be back on your blog!
    How are you?
    This is one of my favorite songs of all time, precisely for the lyrics and just the way the melody ties in beautifully with the music.
    I tend to be a bit of both, though naturally I’m more in tune with going with the flow, as when I analyze I tend to distract myself from what is actually happening in the moment. To live is to be, breathing in this one simple moment.
    Hope you are having a beautiful spring.
    Love
    Ana

  4. I was in high school when that song had major radio play where I live. Tenth grade, to be exact. In fact, my favourite lyrics from Sixpence None The Richer’s “Kiss Me” is the same as your post title, but add “silver moon’s sparkling”. It’s a beautiful image to behold, mentally.

    Good dreams are big dreams, so I wish you all the luck in your graduate school applications!

  5. Hey bud,

    I have a friend who is attending Columbia University right now! Maybe you’d be interested in talking to him? I’ll give you his e-mail or something once I dig it up when I have more than one minute to respond to your post. Hope everything is going well. Don’t worry too much. There’s plenty of time for that later.

    – BC

  6. Good luck with grad school.

    I think I’m the same, I over think and over analyse things when it comes to relationships. I am a chicken, so I won’t actually admit or fess up to him but it doesn’t stop me from thinking about him, etc.

    It actually really affects my study and work because things that he says or does dictates my mood for the rest of the day.

    I hope you are luckier and everything goes smoothly for you! x

Leave a Reply

