One more time with feeling

All around me now, I see the lonely anthems of people who say they feel too much…

As if the capacity to feel emotion deeply and express it eloquently was a curse. There are those people who see the heartache and suffering of others, and feel it a hundred times over. There is so much pain in the world, and they want it to be fixed. The broken hearts to be mended and put back as good as new, the scars to disappear and the skin to appear broken and whole, the dead trees to sprout buds and branches.

So much to a fault. To the point that sometimes the joys and little whimsical happinesses of other people are overlooked, simply because it’s so much easier to be acquainted with distress than to be acquainted with joy.

While this may be true, don’t ever rue your ability to emphasize. Maybe we are a people becoming too used to keeping the tears back and pushing all emotion away, taught to avoid the pain that so naturally comes with hard but right choices and seek that road which avoids looking at the dark side of everything. To become overly light-hearted, pushing all dark thoughts away for fear of being consumed, to the point where pain is something that they cannot understand. Not their own pain, or even the pain of their friends.

But who knows? There might be a time when those people wish they could feel more. And the world always needs people who can feel deeply, because feeling deeply the sorrows and heartache of others is one step closer to coming alive.

Thoughts?

hold on
one more time with feeling
try it again, breathing’s just a rhythm
say it in your mind, until you know that the words are right

this is why we fight
this is why we fight

18 thoughts on “One more time with feeling

  1. I think people only complain when it hurts. And for those of us who feel deeply, a real heart ache stretches out farther than we can imagine, than maybe we’d want it to.

  2. Happy New Year – great to have you back blogging! I could do with feeling a little less at the moment, but then if you don’t have these times, what’s the point of being human?

  3. Thought-provoking post. Several years ago, I was struggling with some depression (it turned out I just needed to remove my ex from my life). I went on some medication…and I felt nothing. I decided I’d rather feel a little sad than feel numb. Not that this works for everyone…just people with horrid exboyfriends.

  4. I sometimes hear people remark that someone is “too sensitive.” It’s a curious comment to make, I think. Actually, I’d rather be sensitive than not … Enjoyed your post.

  5. Welcome back and Happy New Year. Hope you could recharge your batteries in your break and that you can start anew in 2011.
    I don’t know, people like to complain so often that you can’t really tell if they are depressed or just attention seekers. I , for example, like to keep my emotions hidden. There’s no better therapist than yourself. You need to figure out things for yourself and pull yourself out of a depression.
    And about the people who suffer from seeing other people getting hurt, what can I say? Maybe some of them are that compassionate, but I think that most of the times they just want others to think that they are being compassionate.
    I remember having these friends who acted like they cared for every abandoned puppy in the world, for every homeless guy on the street, but when someone close to them needed help they would just turn their back on them.
    So, my point is. There aren’t many altruists around, only altruists wannabe.

    • Really good point! And I’d also like to add that it’s not conducive to helping people… sometimes I don’t know whether I’m feeding the drama llama or really helping someone work through their issues. Makes me rather hesitant, because I don’t want to make it worse by feeding someone’s need for attention.

  6. Hey Abby! Did you know I thought about you the other day in my garden? I haven’t been on-line lately, so I’ve been kind of a louse about visiting all of the blogs that I want to and should do. Yeah…
    Oh, and I agree that there are a lot of people that feel so much pain for the world around them, but agree with the second portion of your writing even more. It is becoming a cultural thing to deny sadness or wrongs in the world in order to be able to be lighthearted and happy. I think this attitude is rampant and quite ill actually. Point is, you’ve given me another resolution for 2011: ‘I will let myself feel the misery of the world around me while also feeling joy for the good things’. Yes…
    I have a feeling that you will do a very good job of loving and feeling sad for others while also having moments of joy. And I wish you this in 2011, my Abby:-)

  7. That was a beautiful post. You know, I’m a pretty empathetic person. My husband, whom I love very, very much, is not. He teases me about my passionate heart, yet it’s something that made him fall in love with me.

    In response to your comment on my blog – I’m trying to get back into the blogging, thinking maybe that will give me some confidence to get back to writing. You should keep up with your blogs – they’re always beautiful, even if I don’t always comment.

  8. Indeed, one must be open and receptive in embracing these feelings if we are to become sensitive to the feelings of others. Well written, Abby! Your posts always have a way of putting my brain to work; to process and internalize things!

  9. Ah, this brought back a lot of memories.

    I can’t help but think many people wouldn’t be who they are without those nights, those moments when they would have rather felt less, cared less than they did (and do).

    Perhaps (and perhaps especially), I don’t think many people would want to live in a world without the memories, the stories in which we felt so very vulnerable, so very human.

    Thank you for the though-provoking post, Abby.

Leave a Reply

