Memories

I’m making lists again. This time it’s one of memories of the Atlantic Music Festival, my first music festival ever, and one of the best things that ever happened to me. It was hectic at times, practicing and getting ready for lessons and concerts (I actually only had one of the latter), but I think I want to go back next year if I can rob enough banks and mooch enough money off my parents and grandparents.

And of course, if I can improve my musicianship.

But the best things that strike me about this music festival is the memories. The little things that happened. The funny things people said that became inside jokes.

In the end, it was a truly inspiring experience.

So here are some of those little memories, in no particular order.

1. Going to McDonalds and waiting at least a half hour for a taxi.

2. Midnight games of Jenga aka Jumbling Towers, accompanied by cookies, chips, and alcohol (which I didn’t drink much of).

3. Stealing cookies from the dining hall for said midnight games.

4. Playing (or in my case listening to) string quartets played just because. And then getting four emails afterwards from administration because of complaints about the noise.

5. Waiting until 10 PM for the practice room sign-up sheets.

6. Amazing concerts.

7. Running around campus taking pictures with a borrowed camera, set to macro lens.

8. Fighting the field hockey camp for food and ice cream every meal.

9. The ice cream party after the last student piano recital. Blueberry ice cream with gummy bears, and taking goofy pictures of each other.

10. FAIL.

11. Solomon dude.

12. Sheridan Seyfried’s Sextet. No. Words.

13. Church bells suddenly echoing while a piece dies away. Quite magical.

14. Friendships.

15. The opera people singing a rendition of the Magic Flute to thank the cafeteria people on my very last night…

And above all, a reply.

43 thoughts on “Memories

  1. I’m often compiling lists of memories in my head if I’m out walking or trying to drift off to sleep. The church bell reference is beautiful. x

  2. Great list, I can see why you feel nostalgic about that time. Don’t worry, I am sure you can attend another Music Festival soon. That blueberry ice cream with gummy bears sounds delicious.
    P.S. Thank you so much for your Birthday wish.

  3. I’m a list maniac, everything ends up in a list with me. Love the church bells at the end of a piece…it must really have been a magical moment. Hope you can make it to another music festival.

  4. “Blueberry ice cream with gummy bears”
    Yummy! ๐Ÿ™‚
    What a lovely list of memories… Sounds like you had a great time! Hope you’ll get to go again.

  5. it all sounds amazing ๐Ÿ™‚ i love those memories. it’s funny the things you remember, isn’t it? like, i remember seeing my little brother and sister asleep in disneyland paris but i can’t remember what i ate for lunch today.
    x x x

  6. Lists keep me super organized- I’d forget everything without them! I hope you can come up with enough money to go again. It seems like you had a really great time…. Jenga is one of the best games ever.

  7. Great list =)

    I love gummy bears and ice cream too
    When 7-11 was doing their $1 days, I stocked up on Magnum cookies and cream, honeycomb, etc… sooo goood mmm…

Leave a Reply

