Bend in the Road

I recently read a blog post written by Aubrey from Made You Blush about following your dreams, and about taking those opportunities that help us to move forward.

I think part of what makes us hesitant to follow our dreams is the uncertainty of it all. What if this doesn’t work out? What if we fail, due to some unseen fault of our own? What if we take a wrong turn while following our dreams, and then we can’t find our way back to the present moment to begin again?

What if this dream is only foolishness, and what we want to gain impossible to get? What if we’re only deceiving ourselves about our chances?

What if the people we care about most won’t dare to step out with us and journey with us? What if they would rather have us sit in comfort and prevent us from moving forward and living life the way we were meant to live it?

What if?

Sometimes we let our doubts keep us from reaching our destinies, until we are so afraid to do anything, make some wrong move…

So we sit and wait, making piles of stones, counting the days and the months and the people that pass us by. Making do with a house made of lost chances. Perhaps we are merely fanning our troubles into flame whilst we wait.

And wait, and wait, and wait.

Nothing really is certain, and the road less traveled on is obviously the road other people might not know much about. People who have traveled that road can tell us what they faced, and how they succeeded and gained something for themselves. However, every road is different, and one cannot tell for sure what she might meet until she walks onto it. There’s different demons for every person, just as there are different kinds of successes.

At the same time, one can’t just sit at the fork at the road and wait. One can’t even worry about the people that one might leave behind.

In the end, it all boils down to something called faith.

Shouldn’t one be excited about the adventures that these bends in the roads inevitably bring?

All photos are under a CC license and used with permission. Click photos for credits.

26 thoughts on “Bend in the Road

  1. That’s so true… I dream of being a published writer, yet sometimes I’m afraid to try… What if I can’t do it? The thing is, the novel won’t write itself. 🙂

  2. I’m lucky in a way. I became disabled 3 years ago, and it gave me the chance to follow my dream and write. Not that I recommend that same course of action, of course. 😉

  3. I think fear of failure is what holds most people back from going for their dreams. And those who fail and go for it again are just very brave.
    This is a beautiful post. The pics are lovely.

  4. Eventually that bend in the road less traveled takes you somewhere… even if that somewhere doesn’t make itself evident till much later. And everyone’s path *is* different. Some of us really can just stay at home and find all we need, others of us have to go far far away to gain perspective. No way is right or wrong. But I think the path that makes us happiest (in a peaceful sense) is the path of ever present acceptance (aka the path of least resistance).

    xoxox

  5. This reminds me of a book I’m reading right now by James Hillman called The Soul’s Code…very interesting stuff: http://www.amazon.com/Souls-Code-Search-Character-Calling/dp/0446673714

    Over and over he examines the moments where someone embraces the uncertainty of their calling. There is a great story in the book of the teenage Ella Fitzgerald, preparing to dance at a huge talent night in NYC. At the very last minute, she decides to sing instead of dance, and she gets two standing ovations that night and is discovered. What caused her to take that step?

    It also reminds me of this great quote—“What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?” It’s a good reminder of how fears can really limit us needlessly.

  6. I couldn’t agree more. We shouldn’t feel afraid to live our dreams; we just take more chances and be a bit more daring. We should live life to the fullest and have no regrets.
    Inspiring post, as always.

    -Ana

  7. This post totally speaks to my current situation. I recognize that it’s silly to be paralyzed and stuck in your current situation for fear of following your dreams, but yet here I am. I don’t necessarily want to go into specifics, but the part that scares me is that choosing one path means letting go on any number of other paths. And I suppose it comes down to a fear of choosing wrong.

  8. I won’t pretend like I don’t ask these questions. But a long time ago, I decided that when I had a dream, I would go after it, no matter what it was. And if along the way, my dream changed, that would be okay. And if I failed, that would be okay too. I just keep following my heart, and rather than dream, I make lists and plans and take steps to achieve what I want. Even if what I want seems a little silly or far-fetched at the time.

  9. One of the most painful hindrances in fulfilling dreams are the ones that we impose on ourselves. The fear, and the accompanying million “What if?” questions. What hurts about them is if we do give into them, we have no one to blame but ourselves.

    But the funny thing I realised in my experience is that when others are hindering me from my dreams, I gain the motivation to pursue it. It’s probably due to that crazy need in me to prove people wrong. So far, I’ve done all right, without incident, injury, or regret.

  10. Hi Abby thanks for visiting always my blog.
    Great post about of the opportunities and our fears.
    The fear is a part of the life, specially the fear of change and new opportunities, but we don’t must leave that it paralyze us because we begin to die slowly.
    We don’t must kill our dreams.Courage is resistance to fear, not absence of fear.
    Hugs

    Kena 🙂

  11. oh the unknown! hmph! sometimes it would be nice to have insider knowledge about your own life – but what if you knew everything that was coming!? would make life a lil less interesting xxxxx

  12. I’m flattered that MY post inspired you to write this. Such thought & depth went into this…I LOVE IT ♥
    One life we have…one life we must live! Best described from your words…”we don’t know what we face until we walk that road.”
    The BEST memories are the ones we create unexpectedly!!!

  13. I’d have to definitely agree that fear is what holds most people back from their dreams. We have it constantly drilled into our heads that we need to be successful that we are hesitant to pursue what we truly want to do because there is a chance we will fail.

Leave a Reply

