Contemplation 3

I can finally see,
That you’re right there beside me,
I am my not own,
For I have been anew,
Please don’t let me go,
I desperately need you.

From the Matrix:

Morpheus: I know *exactly* what you mean. Let me tell you why you’re here. You’re here because you know something. What you know you can’t explain, but you feel it. You’ve felt it your entire life, that there’s something wrong with the world. You don’t know what it is, but it’s there, like a splinter in your mind, driving you mad. It is this feeling that has brought you to me. Do you know what I’m talking about?

Neo: The Matrix.

Morpheus: Do you want to know what it is?

Neo: Yes.

Morpheus: The Matrix is everywhere. It is all around us. Even now, in this very room. You can see it when you look out your window or when you turn on your television. You can feel it when you go to work… when you go to church… when you pay your taxes. It is the world that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from the truth.

Neo: What truth?

Morpheus: That you are a slave, Neo. Like everyone else you were born into bondage. Into a prison that you cannot taste or see or touch. A prison for your mind.

Sometimes I feel as if I need something that is more than what I have right now. A certain kind of emptiness, as if there were something missing that I’d either lost a long time ago, or something. Perhaps its absence signifies something that I’ve lost.

And thus, not knowing what the need inside us signifies but feeling it all the same, we actively search for the fulfillment of this unspoken need…

At the end of the day, I desperately need You.

CC license – click photos for artist credit

39 thoughts on “Contemplation 3

  1. These words made me tumble backwards in time a bit. I remember this feeling. I don’t know where or how it left me, but it did. The emptiness I filled somehow, and sometimes I wonder if I filled it superficially, if the feeling will return later to haunt me. I simply don’t know.

  2. Your post today made me sad. I’m not sure that I’ve ever really felt that way. I was depressed during my divorce, but that’s only natural. I don’t know if it’s because of the way I was raised, the things I’ve been taught to believe and as an adult, chosen to believe. I don’t know if it’s just all the love I have in my life. Work…now work is another story. But it enables me to have the life I have with my family, and to me, that’s priceless.

  3. This was a lovely post. And I love the Owl City song and the quote from the Matrix.

    Also! I’m so jealous you’ve been to Taipei!! And you have family in Taiwan!! I want to visit there more than anything right now!

  4. Very deep, and beautiful way of expressing how your feeling right now. Have you looked at it from the angle, that whatever you feel you have lost is right there with you already and that all that one has is always there present in the moment of existence.
    Thank you for the warm welcome back. I hope that you find your fulfillment in some way..

  5. Hey πŸ™‚

    …now this?? Was GOOD. I do understand, I think we all go thru this stage – im just always at that point wondering how I got in, why and where do I find the way out. Hope you’re having a fab day πŸ™‚

  6. Oh, that song — so beautiful! I’ve listened to “Meteor Shower” countless times and can’t imagine getting sick of it. It always brings me a sense of peace, which is unexpected — but great.

  7. So much to contemplate now. Sometimes, I feel a world within a world. Very insightful post. Thanks so much for the feedback too. I must admit, I am sometimes smitten by my own characters. I might start out wanting to make them someone you’d despise, and then I’ll find so much I like about them, too. All the best in your writing and inspirations.

  8. This is a way of feeling? or the life is a long prission? 😦
    Sometimes I also have felt me prisoner of an empty stranger.
    Thanks for doing us reflect always.

    Hugs

  9. We all go through this stage and feeling, sometimes, at turns, daily… no? Feels good to be needed and sometimes a little wobbly-knee’d to need.

    I hope your day is shaping up beautifully.

    xoxox

  10. “At the end of the day, I desperately need You.”

    wow, isn’t this a great way to echo my sentiments. you have a gift of words, hun. i miss the one i love too 😦

    thanks for teh kind words btw

    ❀
    eden

  11. Thank you for the birthday wishes Abby, it’s always nice to hear from you!
    This is a great post, it’s so well put together and it really makes you think. Isn’t it weird how the human being always has this necessity to always want something more; we are never happy with what we have, there is always something missing.

    -Ana

  12. I just didn’t like The Matrix…it tried too hard.

    But I did like the “Like everyone else you were born into bondage. Into a prison that you cannot taste or see or touch. A prison for your mind.” quote!

  13. I feel like Audrey Hepburn addressed this feeling by saying that success can be like reaching a very important birthday and not feeling older.

  14. Did you mean for “You” to be capitalized in the last sentence?

    If “You” is another person, you don’t need them. If it’s G_d, ‘maybe’ you need Her…but that’s an operative and very serious ‘maybe.’ If You is yourself, yes, you need her.

    Will you post a passionately happy piece soon, an emotional climax of joy and celebration? You have the talent to produce the most beautiful one of those.

  15. HI Abby

    Hope everything is feeling on a more even keel for you now: have been worried about you all week! May your weekend bring you sunshine from all directions (and no more horrid things being sent to you on Facebook – seriously, why do people do that?).
    Tonia x

  16. Thank you for the great song recomendations!

    You have such a lovely blog and this post was awesome..I studied this Matrix quote in my Theory and Criticism lecture and found it so interesting!

    Kisses!
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

