Touch

“You look so happy.”

Surprise coloring her voice, blended with curiosity and a tentative tendril of doubt.

Wondering, if maybe she reached out her fingers and touched, this happiness would pass over to her as well. As if happiness was something that could be passed along from hand to hand, like bananas or a small rubber ball. Or with a look and a sigh.

As if, like the woman bleeding for many years, she could touch the cloak and feel alive again, with only a little faith, and desperation, and helplessness, and fear, and longing.

… if I could touch your clothes, I could feel your power…

Oh yes, the longing. The wanting but not having. The needing but not getting.

And being so alone and forsaken.

She is so hesitant, not knowing whether this is true happiness. Not knowing whether the true happiness that many speak of even exists… the light at the end of the tunnel or just the train.

Or maybe it’s that she doesn’t want to reach out to the illusion she sees at the bottom of the well, and fall in and drown altogether.

I’ve got the faith to believe…

Is it worth the effort to find out? She’s been hurt one times too many.

She remembers everything that transpired. Raw insides. Endless bleeding.

It hurts.

I’m so tired.

Forget.

No. Believe.

Reaching out, and pulling away… reaching out, and pulling away…

Could she fall down the rabbit hole, so to speak, and begin again?

Believe.

All we know is that it isn’t her last chance.

Not yet.

But I’m running towards you and it’s all I believe.

All photos are under a CC license and used with permission. Click photos for credits.

Song: Come My Way by Skillet

Related post: On Choosing Happiness by chasingparadise

40 thoughts on “Touch

  1. Hey 🙂

    My favorite post up to date! These type post always make me feel like writing poetry (which I’m pretty ok at) or a whimiscal story. Good post!! Also, I gave you a “Cherry on Top” blog award. Have a fab day 🙂

  2. Beautiful story and photo. This line especially stood out to me, “Not knowing whether the true happiness that many speak of even exists… the light at the end of the tunnel or just the train.”

  3. Beautiful pictures and words. When I read this, it made me remember what I had heard on the news. How they’ve done a study, where people do better on memory test if they have their favorite charms with them. It gives them the confidence to do better.

  4. The first part of this post is really bringing to mind the song “Taste” by Lorna Vallings, I can’t quite explain why, but the emotion just seems similar. I’d recommend you give it a listen if you aren’t already familiar with it. Hope you’re having a good Monday!

  5. Happiness is the interval between periods of unhappiness. (Don Marquis)

    I believe that nobody can be happy and sad the whole time, but sometimes the suffering is more long than felicity. Solutions? : The secret of happiness is to find a congenial monotony. (V.S. Pritchett) s:

    Thanks Abby for showus pretty songs and your viewpoint.

    Have a nice week !

  6. Oh my goodness! Perhaps I’m just an emotional person, or you’re just an inspirational writer… or both! …but this post made me tear! FAITH is such a scary, but BEAUTIFUL thing.

    Again, I LOVE your writing!!!

  7. this is beautiful writing. very poetic. i enjoyed it immensely

    thanks for you comment! i posted my last post about China if you’re interested in learning a tidbit more ( :
    yes, Hong Kong was VERY different. much more westernized, and mainland China’s culture was so much more rich and infused with their history.

Leave a Reply

