Just to break my fall

I love black and white things. Especially black and white photography.

Black and white photos, or color photos of black and white stuff, for your amusement. All cobbled together from Flickr creative commons. Click photos for sources!

The city at night…

… pianos…

… the crispness of black print against white paper…

… black and white pictures of flowers…

… mint chocolate chip ice cream…

… rainy skies…

… silver…

… and Regina Spektor’s music video Fidelity.

I like that it is when she decides to stop keeping herself from experiencing true love that color appears. Like going with courage into a fuller experience, instead of keeping herself back by “protecting her heart truly.” And ripping the black ribbon necklace from her throat and throwing it on the ground when he offers her his heart, to the white pendant shattering, releasing all these beautiful colors.

For her, giving her own heart doesn’t only mean that the boy will be able to know her fully — it also means that she will be able to know him fully as well.

I suppose I love all the symbolism, from the rather surreal and spare black and white surroundings (but beautiful nevertheless) to the wild paint pigment smeared all over herself and the boy.

It gives me goosebumps.

And it breaks my heart… breaks my heart

44 thoughts on “Just to break my fall

  1. I have to say I’m really taken by the black and whites you’ve shown here. Just spectacular. You have such a quiet way about you.

    xoxo,
    Carrie

  2. All thoughtful images with hints of melancholy. I can tell that you feel things deeply. You sometimes think that’s a curse. Remember – many times it’s a joy.

    Enjoy the day! πŸ™‚

  3. Black and white has such a way of giving a different perspective. I love the lone flower, and what a different feeling it would project in color. There’s almost a deeper truth somehow to the b&w.

  4. Beautiful pictures! I think my favorite is the one with the glasses on the book.
    That music video is so adorable! ❀ Possibly even allegorical?? I really like it.

  5. I love these pictures, I’m really into black and white photos as well (and gray-scale and sepia, sometimes it can make a picture look even more beautiful). Thanks so much for stopping by my blog by the way! My favorite pictures are the ones with the flowers.

  6. Hey πŸ™‚

    So, I’ve yet to listen to that song straight thru, but it’s a pretty good one. I too LOVE black and white photos…I feel they showcase abstract scenary that allows you to tell your story within the photo more than what the photographer desired to. Also, I gave you a “Prom Queen” BLog award.

  7. My absolute favorite is the picture with the glasses and opened book. I’ve listened to this song, I’ve enjoyed a lot. I can relate to the girl, I protect my heart too and sometimes I am lost in the sounds. I like the fact that the man it’s just a dummy before she accepts his necklace (love) It’s like, it didn’t even matter to her who the person was, she just didn’t want to fall in love. She had already made up her mind about it and to her every guy was just a soulless dummy.

  8. I love those black and white photos, they were so lovely! And the video reminds me of the Indian color festival, called “Holi”. You take that powder and just have a big color fight, it’s so fun!

  9. I’m a serious sucker for black and white photography. I really have to stop myself from adding the black & white effect to all of my outfit photos on my blog. It just makes everything look so much better and adds such a vintage glam to any photo!

  10. i love regina spektor…AND all of these pictures! very inspiring. πŸ™‚

    p.s, thanks for the comment! you make your own jewelry? that’s amazing! you should post pictures of some of your favorite pieces! i would love to see. i used to make jewelry, but none of it ever turned out cute. so i had to stop. haha.

    xoxo
    SWEATshirt/DRESSshirt

  11. Regina Spektor just knows how to make music videos. I love this one, and I love that the colors spill from her heart. It’s beautiful…as are the rest of these photos.

  12. I agree! I love black-and-white toned photographs. It just adds so much CLASS to the photos! I especially love that picture you posted of the piano and of the spectacles. Ah! Lovely!!!

  13. I love black and white photos, too! And you show some lovely ones.
    That Regina Spektor video (and song!) is one of my favorite. And I love your interpretation of it. πŸ™‚

  14. The piano.One of the reason i was attracted to it and began to play was because of the colors. We had a black and very glossy piano when I was little and it was irresistible.
    And black and white photos are always glamorous.

Leave a Reply

