Hello Sunshine

Hello sunshine, it’s been too long since I
Felt your beautiful warmth upon my face
And how much have I missed
‘Cause I’ve been focused on everything wrong

This road just felt so long
I forgot to lift my head to see you…

— “Hello Sunshine” by BarlowGirl

Right now, I’m at Colby College for the Atlantic Music Festival. Unfortunately, it appears that I may not have access to internet for at least a couple of days (hopefully). Because I checked in early, they don’t yet know the internet passwords and what not. Hopefully after  Monday I will get internet. However, in the meantime, I will not be able to easily visit other people’s blogs. I apologize in advance! Thank you for all the comments, I appreciate them.

Things I love about summer:

1. Sunshine. I dislike cold. I love heat. I can’t deal with snow. I can deal pretty well with high temperatures, as long as it’s not humid. If it’s humid, then you can’t separate me from my beloved air conditioner. I have a love affair with rain, but after a long, cold, wet winter, enough is enough.

2. Having the time to listen to old favorite songs that I haven’t listened to for a while due to school. “Oh, this song is awesome! I remember now how much I still love it!”

A good example is BarlowGirl’s song Hello Sunshine. It’s so whimsical and summery and instantly uplifting. I also like how the music fades out completely in the middle of the track and then gradually comes back in full force before the song ends. When I first listened to it, I thought the song was over, and then the music gradually faded back in and I was pleasantly surprised. “Oh.” Pretty cool.

Fill my dark skies
Make me see the light, life is fine
So bring in the sunshine

Or another summer favorite, Irish band The Corrs’ Summer Sunshine.

Just sweet beginnings and bitter endings
In coffee city, we borrowed heaven
Don’t give it back, I’ve never felt so wanted
Will you make me a home?

I love the offbeatness of this music video! In the beginning, a couple is looking to kiss in some shady, dark, musty places. Members of the band open the shutters and tear out the blinds so that the light hits them, and they run away. The band chases them throughout the old house from each and every hiding place, while literally tearing the whole place until the building collapses on top of them. In the end, they uncertainly emerge from the wreckage into the “summer sunshine” and marvel that they’re still alive.

Summer sunshine

In the end, they’re not afraid of the sunshine, and whatever else it might symbolize. Their love is not longer a thing of secret, a thing to be ashamed of, but something to openly embrace.

I also love how Andrea Corr looks in the video.

Listening to it again after so long reminded me that this is one of my favorite love songs for a reason.

Also: where is this “coffee city,” and how can I get there?

3. No school.

4. Having the time to read beautiful, inspiring blogs. You know who you are.

I dread fall when school will start and I will inevitably get busy with all my music classes and whatnot and therefore won’t have as much time to visit blogs and leave comments and even write my own posts.

5. Time to read, period. During the school year, I didn’t have time to read any fun reading — just textbooks and psychology papers and biographies of Ravel. During the past few weeks, I reread several of my old Star Wars favorites, like Yoda: Dark Rendezvous by Sean Stewart and the Hand of Thrawn duology by Timothy Zahn. And enjoyed all three books as much as before.

I’ve also read so much fantasy in the form of those fairy tale novelizations that I so love. I’ve always loved fairy tales, especially if an author has a new and fresh retelling of an old and well-known fairy tale. It’s like looking at it with new eyes. I also recently read a book about a werewolf, titled Shiver and written by Maggie Stiefvater. It was a good story, told from the point of view of the werewolf who was in love as well as the point of view of the girl who loved the werewolf. I got slightly annoyed mainly because the heroine seemed to be a different person as presented in each perspective.

It’s good being able to be with books again. I had almost forgotten the feeling of being totally lost in a book while I could forget that life was happening around me.

6. Being able to do nothing,

and

7. Sunshine.

In the heat of summer sunshine
I miss you like nobody else
In the heat of summer sunshine
I kiss you, and nobody needs to know

All photos are under a CC license and used with permission. Click photos for credits.

44 thoughts on “Hello Sunshine

  1. Hey 🙂
    Enjoy yourself! Right now, I’m at home relaxing on a Sunday morning…preparing my self later to take some new pics 🙂 I’m not really a “Summer chick,” as much as I just LOVE the clothes – the heat and me are NOT good friends. I more lend towards the Spring time, and I’m falling inLOVE with the Fall…still must be the clothes ha.
    Have a fab day 🙂 Eat lots of cotton candy (if they have some) for me 🙂 ha.

  2. Even in the summer it still feels like I could use a couple extra hours in the day!! I wish I had more time to read (blogs and books!). I think I feel a lazy weekend coming in my future. I need to get some time to appreciate summer.

  3. Are you studying music?
    your blog is very inspiring, the way you describe things is wonderful, I also loved your last blog + I hear that song at work all the time!

    xoxo anna
    ps..people will notice my shoes and ask all about them! haha

  4. Summer is fab because my kids are out of school and I am not having to help them on any tedious projects or trying to re-explain Geometery! Yay for summer! Thanks for the lovely post.

  5. Thanks for stopping by, dear! I love your blog (esp. your summer list)! It made me think about and appreciate the little things about my own summer. Hope you have a lovely time at the music festival!

  6. I can’t deal with cold either. And I live in a cold place, and we’ve had so little sunshine this year.
    And I really like having time to read, and not for school either.
    I hope you are enjoying your music festival.

  7. Lucky you, I’d love to be at a summer music festival. One of the best parts of summer are the outdoor concerts that come around, there’s nothing like hearing live music beneath the stars. Hope you post about the Colby festival!

  8. Even though I don’t have any time off from anything, I’m still trying to live it up and savor as much summeryness as I can. I’d add summer night air to this list. There’s nothing like it and I wish I could bottle it and sniff it all year long.

  9. I love your list..I agree with everything! 🙂 You have a lovely blog here. And I know what you mean about the contact solution. I used a certain type last year and was allergic and it was HELL. It was horrible!! x

  10. I just love this post and your list about summer…I feel so similar to you re: dislike cold, love heat, can’t deal with snow. Snow’s only fun the first couple times it falls and that’s about it!

    If you pull a summer reading list together (or even a portion thereof), I would be very interested to see what’s on there. I love reading and this is one of the first summer’s I haven’t started a list or a book (I blame it on the fact that summer only kinda showed up today in SoCal)…looking to get going within the next week. Once September hits it’s back to BSF and between that and the blog, sadly, I fear free reading time will be at a minimum.

    Argh.

    I’m really enjoying your blog.
    -Carrie 🙂

  11. Summer is the best time to be totally free and can enjoy small or big things…
    Nice and reflexive phrases about of sunshine. Enjoy music festival and… you are student o teacher of music?
    Thanks for your comments in my blog.
    Hugs

  12. Reading about your summer makes me remember mine, and the cold, bleak winter we have right now in Sydney. But, cold, bleak weather over hot, humid weather any time.

    I think my love of old favorites stems from the memories these favorites bring up — if I listen to a song often enough, I inevitably link it to whatever is going on in my life at the time, and that link persists into the future even when I haven’t listened to it for years. It’s a beautiful thing.

  13. I also love summertime. I am so not made for cold weather. I hate it. I’d rather be hot any day, even if the heat is accompanied by humidity. I don’t care! I’ll have to check out those songs when I’m not at work. I’ve also been reading more and more fantasy, expanding my horizons, and I’m so glad I am!

  14. Summer truly does offer so many wonderful things! I wish it would last longer! I enjoyed reading what you love about summer. I used to listen to BarlowGirl all the time! It was nice to hear them again 🙂

  15. Hi Abby! Thanks for visiting my site and for your kind words.

    I enjoy your posts as well…a bit like collages based around concepts (which I love). I liked this Corrs’ video, too! 🙂

  16. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and leaving a kind comment! I am a huge fan of Barlow Girl too, and I really love the material on your blog. Excellent stuff…I’ll be back!

  17. Hey there! I wanted to thank your for the blog comment. And, regarding the ring, yes I made it but all I did was glue a piece of metal I found on the floor onto one of those ring bases. That was pretty much it. So I am really not as talented and crafty as you probably thought I was! Haha.

    -Ana

  18. I love your list! I agree with you on heat. I love heat, but I HATE humidity! It’s why I love mid-Spring and early Fall the most.
    And I literally just re-discovered “Summer Sunshine” on my Ipod! I love that song, and The Corrs in general!

  19. thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting on my alphabet walk post! summer is the best. my favorite thing are the warm evenings… something we don’t get too often in vancouver! xo, carla

  20. hey girl THANKS FOR COMMENTING:] you have a nice blog too!
    I replied you on my blog but i think i may as well go to yours. So the cake is called baumkuchen, it’s a japanese dessert and here’s the link to the wiki-page: baumkuchen

  21. Oh summer – so many ways to love it: drippy ice creams, the incredible greeness of everything, time away from the work/school place, bumble bees, sand in your shoes, time to watch the roses grow.
    Really don’t want to be in the office today!

  22. No school is really the best — it’s been giving me a lot of time to think about whether I actually want to be in school and what I want to be when I grow up. Sigh… And the humidity — I completely agree with you on that.
    Hope you had a lovely time!

Leave a Reply

