Future

So Independence Day has come and gone. I am so very grateful for the freedom that I can get in this country. Considering many of the things that has happened over the past few weeks and months (BP oil spill, for one), it may seem that right now, America really isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

I am in a country where at times it seems that we are moving backwards. I am in a country where politicians cheat on their wives and hurt their children. I am in a country where my fellow countrymen sometimes do the wrong thing more than they do the right thing. I am in a country where oppression still exists, whether we like to admit it or not.

But at the same time, I am in a country where the possibility exists to move forward. I am in a country where lives can be rebuilt. I am in a country where people can still make the choice whether to do the right thing, or the wrong thing. And I am in a country where I can see those who are fighting every day to break those bonds of oppression, both for those oppressed and those oppressing, and are inspiring others to take their stand.

At this moment, I am also very grateful for that freedom that comes from the Son, who died to buy my pardon.

All photos are under a CC license and used with permission. Click photos for credits.

26 thoughts on “Future

  1. Wow! I love this blog πŸ™‚ It’s amazing! Thank you for you comment on my blog & is that really what it’s like… I mean what you wrote about kind of scared me a little. But at the same time I think I would like too live there too… Mixed emotions :P.
    Anyway the blogs great πŸ™‚ Best one I’ve seen so far anyway πŸ˜€

    Lara xx

  2. Amen to that…of all the freedoms we have, the freedom given us by Christ is by far the best and the most important kind!

  3. That was a very nice post, good on you for having the courage to share your views πŸ™‚ I don’t live in America, I hear a lot of good and a lot of bad things about it…it’s hard to say what is what, but I think you have a good view in that there are opportunities to make good from bad.

  4. Some great thoughts…when you’re listing the things about your country, that pretty much applies to every country out there. I think everyone needs to work hard to improve things.

  5. Wonderful thoughts, and I agree very much with what Marie said about that everyone needs to work hard to improve. You can’t simply just put everything in the hands of one man or one woman, it takes hard teamwork!

  6. That was beautiful! AT the end of the day, we all have bad things that we could dwell on, but why, when we still have opportunities. I tell my oldest child that almost daily. God Bless,
    Cocoa

  7. I’m in a country full of incredble and creative people but with a lot of political problems. We have wonderful food and mafia. We have wonderful monuments and corruption. We have burglars and thieves and the highest number of red cross volunteers in europe. I think there is good and bad everywhere, and that we are very lucky because we were born on the right side of the planet…
    Bobbi

  8. Your blog is great. It always amazes how many people with such an intense mind and so many different skills are out there. Please keep it up! I’d love to read more!

  9. Very well said – it kind of feels like we haven’t learned anything and keep making the same mistakes! Arggg hopefully things move forward is a positive way!

  10. Hi Abby! I’d like to thank you for the lovely birthday greeting you left on my blog. T’was very sweet of you to stop by πŸ™‚
    This here is a beautiful post, and something I never thought about. America may be corrupt in many aspects, but there’s tons of space becuase people have the freedom to do just that. I live in Canada, and since we’re a democrasy too it’s lovely to read something like this and think about all the freedom we have and how much we can embrace it! Lovely, lovely post πŸ™‚

  11. You are so right, Abby. He did die for our salvation but I’m sure His work continues. Great post, very inspirational. Thank you.
    I think we all live in countries where the same vices exist but, as our priest said, Good is stronger than Evil.

Leave a Reply

