Happy Independence Day!

"Red symbolizes Hardiness and Valor, White symbolizes Purity and Innocence and Blue represents Vigilance, Perseverance and Justice."

I went to watch the fireworks the night before at the local high school stadium. It used to be quite the family tradition: take a few picnic blankets and some snacks and head down to spend some time together while enjoying colorful explosions. However, I hadn’t gone for the past few years. The first year, I went to a summer conference in New York and had to miss the fireworks. My family went without me, but they got me one of those lightsaber type toys that light up. The year after that, my dad was sick and I hadn’t learned how to drive properly yet. Not to mention the lack of a license. So we didn’t go.

This year, we went as a family.

The fireworks started more than a half hour late, as they were waiting for the sky to get properly dark. During that time, my dad talked incessantly about the near proximity of a clam chowder booth and I embarrassed my family by commenting on the number of hand-holding couples, concluding with remarks that watching the fireworks was rather “romantic.”

My family very much enjoyed the fireworks, which lasted a full 45 minutes instead of the usual 30. This is evidenced by their various comments:

My father: Mmm. Firecrackers go up so high. Mm. So high. Up so high.
My mother: Oh, so pretty!
Older brother: Cesium magnahyxochloride is used to make colors… mmmbrrghh bblllggrrh carbon dioxide
Younger sister 1: Oh, so pretty!
Younger sister 2: Can you think of the money the rich businessmen spent? Money! Oh, that is a pretty one!
Younger brother: *awed silence*

A nice touch was the extra policemen directing traffic so that no one got backed up in rows of cars attempting to get out of a tiny, cramped parking lot. Something they hadn’t had before, to my knowledge…

All-in-all, we agreed that this year’s fireworks display was spectacularly exceptional, both in quality and in execution.

Perhaps part of it was because we were together as a family, making memories…

How did you spend your July 4th?

All photos are under a CC license and used with permission. Click photos for credits.

10 thoughts on “Happy Independence Day!

  1. Sounds exactly like how a Fourth of July should be. I used to go to a small downtown, scavenge for parking, sit on a hill, listen to a concert I couldn’t see, and then watch the fireworks.

  2. It seems like you had a pretty great time with your family. I don’t celebrate the fourth of July because I’m from Canada, but this was pretty similar to how I spent my Canada Day!

  3. Just wanted to stop by and say thank you for your lovely comment last Thursday. I was in need of a hug!

    Hope you have a fabulous weekend!

  4. It’s wonderful your family could go to the fireworks together! We always did, too, but it’s harder now that my sister and I are older.

    This year, I picked up my mom and grandmother and drove down to a local baseball stadium, where they had fireworks after the game. I was able to meet up with my boyfriend and his mom, who was visiting from out of state, to see the main event! I was really happy because, as you mentioned, I was one of the sappy hand-holding couples. 🙂 A belated happy Independence Day to you!

Leave a Reply

