To What End?

I waste a lot of time. I waste a lot of time thinking about what should be and what could be and what is, and how and when and where and what. Who was I, who will I be, who am I now? What happened to the time? What is happening to me? Will this make much difference?

… Especially since I’m in college right now. I feel as if so much hinges on the choices I make. What classes I choose to take, how much time I practice piano, how much time and research and sleepless nights I spend on a particular paper. So much worries about what I’m going to do with my life after I get out of college in four years, as well as what I’m going to do Christmas vacation. So much worries on what and how. So much what and how that I’m in danger of forgetting the why.

Why?

So much time spent on concerns and worries that in the end amount to a little bit of sand that the wind blows away. A little bit of sand that ultimately gets lost in the big ocean of WHY.*

Why am I doing this? What is my ultimate purpose? To what end?

Perhaps we worry too much about the what and when and where and how much that we forget about the why.

Hopefully I’ll be able to live every day in the present, with my eyes set on the Goal. Hopefully I will be able to look back on what I’ve done and say that it was all done for the glory of God. That He is the reason WHY I live and breathe and move and sing.

*I know that was cheesy, but please bear with me.

Leave a Reply

