A Day in the Life of an Angsty Teenager

Periods of sunshine and happiness interjected with periods of depression and self-loathing at my own inadequacy to measure up to standards. Whose standards? Probably mine. I can’t do anything right, I can’t play piano, I can’t write, I can’t psychologize people (yes, I just made up that word), and I want someone to shoot me now because I got an A- and that is the most horrible thing ever. And it’s raining and I don’t want to walk across Huxley to get to Smith to practice piano because it’s flooded and I’ll get wet.

Then there’s the times that I ask, “What have I got myself into?” Can I really do this? Can I prove to people that I’m not too young, I’m not too immature, I’m not too… too short? Can I prove to myself that I have what it takes? I worry.

It’s at moments like those that I wish I could say that I’ve outgrown that phase, but I realize that I haven’t.

Sadly, it’s all too easy to fall into the trap of negative thinking. Stop talking about yourself and how bad you are, for goodness’ sake. The whole world knows you think you’re inadequate. The whole world might even tell you that you’re inadequate. But you know that you can do all things in Christ who strengthens you, and that he is enough for your inadequacy.

And move on. I’m sure we can probably figure that we were meant for greater things than this.

Meanwhile, you’ll probably find me in Smith, arranging piano covers of Brooke Fraser and Regina Spektor. Apologies to my piano teacher in advance.

PS: the covers never did get arranged for some reasons I don’t have time to go into.

2 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of an Angsty Teenager

  1. Negative thoughts are powerful. I always find that the best way to start is by making a decision to do one thing that puts me in the direction that I want to be in. Then I focus myself on that, so I’m no longer focusing on the negative thoughts. Somehow, over the years, you learn to find peace.

Leave a Reply

