Writer to writer meme

I found this questionnaire thing on Bettie’s blog, and she found on Isaac’s blog, who found it somewhere else. It’s pretty fun. Made me think about the answers.

1) Where do you write?

It depends on what I’m writing. If I’m writing poetry, I just write it directly on the laptop, which sits next to my bed. Though I can carry my laptop around. If I’m writing articles, I start with a rough draft written out in longhand on my desk. My VERY messy desk. Though I got fed up and cleaned it out when I couldn’t find something the other day.

2) When do you write?

I am a student, and this is summer break. Whenever I can find time. So that means every day for now. When school starts in a matter of months I don’t know how things are going to work out. However, I will try to write every day. I want to keep on writing as long as I’m living and breathing. I love writing.

Picture from Flickr, made by a.drian

Picture from Flickr, taken by a.drian

3) Planner or Pantser?

Pantser here too! I just go where the story takes me. However, it’s sometimes really good to plan, depending on what the subject matter is for me. But then when I’m enjoying the writing process and I’m really involved with what I’m writing, everything just flows together smoothly and I don’t have to stop to outline or anything like that. Plus I think I’m one of those people who can keep outlines in their heads.

4) Coffee or tea?

Tea! I love herbal tea. Can never get enough tea. I don’t drink tea right now because I don’t have any. I like coffee ice cream, though. Never could get used to the drink. And I don’t like it enough besides.

5) Pen and paper, or computer?

35531600_86a228120fPen and paper for my longhand drafts, of course. But the computer for tapping everything down. I love journals, like my friend Bettie. I have tons of journals for writing and I buy them faster than I can fill them up. The one I have right now is a clothbound journal I got on sale at a bookstore. I like the lined ones, spiralbound AND clothbound. Leather is cool too but expensive.

6) What gets you in the writing mood?

Reading a good piece of writing, reading a blog that really gets me thinking, or the rain. Rain makes me feel like writing. Or reading something really goofy and what the heck… those kinds of stuff are really great for my perfect lady blog. If I think about a subject enough that usually gets me started immediately.

7) What pulls you out of the writing mood?

If something’s really annoying me. Or if I’m in a bad mood. Also worrying about money and whether I’ll get accepted or rejected. I have a pretty annoying crush who can pull me out of the mood in the blink of an eye.

8) What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever read/heard/received?

Write a lot. Keep writing. Keep persisting. Keep reading.

9) Got muse?

God. Rain. I write what God leads me to write. I think rain always makes me contemplative. I feel like writing poetry about God and the rain. And then I usually end up doing so. Ha.

10) Who is the biggest supporter of your writing?

431030294_a7bdf8b7e0My family. They think everything I write is so wonderful. My mom wants me to print every single thing out and give it to her. And she thinks that I’ll eventually write a book. Yeah, I have a great family. My siblings follow my blogs and sometimes they comment.

11) Sound or silence?

Sound. I’m a wannabe music major so of course music. Though it can be distracting, trying to sing along while banging something out. But I’m also a musician, and music can get me inspired. I play piano and I sing occasionally. I like Taylor Swift, Yiruma, Joe Hisaishi, and the classics. I’m also falling in love with Switchfoot.

As a pianist sometimes it helps to go to a piano and improvise a little or play from memory. Gets my creativity on.

If you want to fill this out, go HERE for the rules.

One thought on “Writer to writer meme

Leave a Reply

