Tomorrow

piano_keys_01I already made the decision of where to go for college. The funny thing is that I went to the cheapest place (free tuition scholarship for all four years… couldn’t pass it up. Liberal Arts Honors… couldn’t pass that up either… nice people…. oh dear there’s lots). But then I found out that my dad actually wanted me to go to Boston College… my mom kind of did too. But oh well, it’s me going to college, not them. And I’m happy with going to Providence College. I’m not sure yet if I’ll live there… just sent the letters off and all I have to do is wait for them to send letters back with housing plans and food plans and roommate plans and things like that.

A few days ago, I was thinking about what I’d like to be. What job should I take? What steps should I take to get that job? What the heck should I STUDY in college? I have to say that even after 16 years of thinking about this (yes, I’m serious) I still don’t know. There’s a lot of things that I’d love to do. There’s a lot of things that I’m really good at. In fact, all I know is that I don’t want to do chemistry or pre-med. Ever. 

At the beginning of the fall semester, I was thinking about theology and psychology. Psych is a passion of mine. I love psych and I love working with people. And I took this great class at CCRI where the professor was absolutely wonderful… got an A in that class. Actually, I got so much extra credit I got MORE than an A. Theology because I love my church, and thinking about stuff like that. Religion is just something that fascinates me.

At the end of the fall semester, I changed to psychology and music, partly because I got this love for music. I play piano. I’ve done so for years… but I don’t know. I just had this new passion for it, so much that I wanted to major in it. What happened to theology? One of my friends was like, “uhhh if you’re going to a Catholic school maybe you shouldn’t.” And besides, there was music, and when I asked if it was possible to triple-major, the guy at PC made funny faces. 

The funny thing is that I wanted to study music when I was a little girl…. around 7 or 8 when I first started learning. 

Then I started blogging on wordpress, after I met Beth. I got my love of writing back again. And I took this composition class at CCRI where the professor was absolutely amazing. He was funny, too. And bald, and had a muffin top. I loved writing, and the class looks like it’s going to be an easy A. (I’ve got all A’s and one B.) He liked my writing, too. Except for my comparing and contrasting… that was too boring for him (and me). Anyway, I started 4 blogs on wordpress. You can find them in the blogroll if you look hard enough. I wrote, and I wrote, and I wrote. And I realized that I liked writing too much not to think about it as a career choice. 

So that’s my dilemma right now. Psychology is a definite. Music is a definite. Writing is a definite. Wait, what?

Maybe I can minor in it. 

But in any case, I’ve chosen my audition pieces for PC and am practicing them right now. I’ll probably try to audition after I enter the college, or this summer, or something. I already got into the psych program. I’ve become fascinated with behavioral and cognitive psych, thanks to that professor. But in regards to psych, there’s still plenty of time to think about that. At least until I apply for graduate school. 

person-writing1Writing is something I’m going to continue doing, whether I major/minor in it or not. So if you’ve been keeping up with my blogs (I know I have a very dedicated friend who’s been coming by regularly 😉 thanks) don’t be afraid that I’ll suddenly drop it. That’s not going to happen, because I say so. 

I love it too much to ever stop doing it.

4 thoughts on “Tomorrow

  1. Pingback: Tomorrow

  2. You are one of the most creative writers I have seen, I always love reading your blog. Have you thought about majoring in journalism.

  3. i commend you efforts on going to a school you want too, and not what your parents want you to go too.

    and the whole what to study, well im finishing up my 3rd year and i still dont know what i want to study, itll eventually come to you sooner or later.

    don’t sweat the little stuff now, you’re in college. start the next ‘best years of your life!’

Leave a Reply

