Me, the Blogaholic

I have to admit that I’ve become a blogaholic. Ever since Beth inspired me to join WordPress, I’ve been back full force into blogging! And I’ve never looked back.

In 2004, I started using Xanga.com. I blogged frequently and got a lot of readers. I met many interesting people and still keep in touch with some of them. Many of the people I met got me interested in psychology and counseling.

However, Xanga changed. The addition of new features and new blogging sections like datingish or lovelyish or dollarish changed my view of xanga. To be honest, it made things more complicated for me instead of easier. I stopped blogging. The spammers and trolls were beginning to wear me down as well. 

I decided to revisit xanga this winter, shortly before I joined wordpress. I tried to post a topic but Xanga wouldn’t let me post. The page took forever to load and ended up not posting the topic. I immediately signed up for a WordPress account.

I think it was because of all the extra features that Xanga added. They ended up slowing my computer down. On Xanga, there’s a lot of extra stuff I don’t need or use… but because I can’t remove them, my computer ends up slowing down to a snail’s pace. It’s annoying. Even now, when I visit xanga to see my friend’s sites, I have to wait for the page to load. And it takes a long time.

WordPress was my dream blogging software! I found everything easy to use (but then I’ve always been computer literate). Not only that,  could own more than one blog on one account, making for easy management and about 15 blogs. I exaggerate. 

A few days ago, I went back to Xanga to have a look around. The site still isn’t loading fast for me. 

I think Xanga was a good thing. It started me writing years ago – and the publicity was good. Somewhere along the way I found myself blogging for the comments, and not because I loved writing. That was bad. Xanga is good at making sure the world sees your thoughts when you want the world to. At the same time, it can be a rather superficial blogging experience.

I love wordpress.

3 thoughts on “Me, the Blogaholic

Leave a Reply

